Week 2- I Ditched the Scale!

March 10 2017.pngWoot, woot! Inches are going down, clothes are getting looser, and I have way more energy.  The quality of my sleep has also improved quite a bit (when the kiddos actually let me sleep through the night lol).

BUT, this time around I am doing something totally different as I work on losing weight and getting healthier. I am ditching the scale.

Yup, that’s right. My goal is to lose weight and get back down to a size 4, but I am not using a scale to track it.  I honestly have no clue what I weigh today.  I tossed the scale a few weeks ago and I will find out my weight one day when I go back to the doctor.  Until then, I am tracking with my clothes and how I feel.

Sometimes I think that we can get so stuck on the number of the scale, that we forget what really matters, and that is treating our bodies well.

Sure I can eat junk, but watch the calories, and see the scale fall.  But what would the satisfaction be in that if I am sluggish, bloated, have acne, and want to nap all the time?

I could also eat super healthy and track every single calorie and macronutrient, but feel deprived and constricted.

So I choose to eat healthy the majority of the time, with occasional treats and watch portion sizes.  I use containers to do that, workout consistently following a program designed by top-trainers, and can do it at home (like Netflix for workouts), and that is working.  Nothing crazy, but I can tell you, today I was able to easily slide on a pair of jeans that I haven’t worn in awhile.  I have a muffin top, but I know that there is progress.

So, I have a question for you, do you think that you could lose weight successfully WITHOUT a scale?  Or do you feel that you need one to stay on track and how often do you step on it?  I would love to hear your thoughts on the scale in your life!

And for your Fitness Friday- I have created a 15 minute free-weight whole body workout.  Use dumbbells or whatever small, heavy objects (like water bottles, cans of soup, heavy books, a child- yes, I am serious, my toddlers are great weights).

 

Free-weight 15 min workout.png

Feel free to share, but please credit my site when you do. Thanks!

 

Until next time,

Autumn

Leave a Reply

